Tuesday, 27 October 2015

AF22 - A Bleeding Star - Soulcreature: The Structure of Nature

{A Bleeding Star} Is A {Dark-Ambient/Gothic/Experimental/Drone} Project Created In {MMVIII} ...Although the Aesoteric Count Only Usually Works With His Personal Gathering of Ghosts, Specters, Spirits {&} Wraiths...Certain Chosen {ABS} Chapters of His {Cauldronations / Sombre Creations} tend to Ask for the Certain Skills of Other Fine {Good-Dark} Soul'd Artists | {^-. .-^}

Download and very limited edition CDR here -


Sunday, 27 September 2015

AF21 - Ross Baker - East of Evening

‘East of Evening was an experiment in stripping my sound
down to the barest bones. After years of using layered
and sequenced electronics, I spent 2012 returning to my
roots in playing acoustic instruments and this album
took it to its limit. The original 10 track cassette edition,
released in a single-figure edition in early 2013, featured
only guitar, piano and field recordings - both raw and
treated - plus spoken word on one piece. This expanded
edition features four previously unreleased tracks,
including two which feature a Korg MS2000. I have never
been a summer person but something I love about those
warmer months is the stillness of a summer evening.
East of Evening is inspired by that most serene time of year’
- Ross Baker

Download and very limited edition CDR here -


Sunday, 30 August 2015

AF20 - Berber Ox - Lye

'Lye is the result of recordings made in Sydney and Tokyo between June and December 2014. Most of the finished tracks defied the will of their creator in some way. The title track started out quiet, but ended up loud. Lover of Digestibles was originally conceived as loud, but somehow got quiet. Early Worm was meant to be an exercise in Hawkwind-style space rock; first all the space disappeared, and then the rock. Cloches de Merde began as some sort of digital gamelan thing, but ended up paying homage to an old cassette recording, taken from late night radio, where some genius had mixed Martin Denny/Arthur Lyman tunes with the sounds of trains & steamships. The Quaker Astronomer somehow absorbed those discarded gamelan gestures. I take only limited responsibility for the whole thing' - David Rutledge

Download here -


Sunday, 9 August 2015

Assembly Field's third compilation is out today!
A big thank you to all the artists involved.

AF19 - VA Compilation #3

Tracklisting -

01 Spinnet - The Pillar of Winter
02 Eendenkend - Amber Clouds
03 A Bleeding Star - The Fogblissforest (Out Of Reach Mix By Mind.Divided)
04 Superlunarskin - Talisman
05 DR - Sadness
06 Gnomula Larvae - The Room
07 Jared Armes - Lucid Dreams
08 Sound Awakener - Horizon pt1
09 Projektions - 12 Days
10 Twincities - Swellrose Demos (A Flown Bird)
11 Tim Kays - Sleeping Under the Red Trees
12 Jazzdefector - The empty streets say nothing of the secrets they keep
13 José Soberanes - She Makes Beauty From Ashes
14 Nojoined - Days of Wolfram Haze
15 Oliver Ryles - 23
16 Projektions - Porta (Bonus Track)

Compiled by Phil Edwards
Mastered by Fraser McGowan
Artwork by Ninjarabbit-Stock {&} Alex Goth

Download here -



Sunday, 14 June 2015

AF18 - BABEL - Janiform

BABEL is the solo improvisational project of Toronto based multi - instrumentalist Jakob Rehlinger. Recorded in January 2015, Janiform is an album of eight improvised experimental pieces based around the piano.

Download here -


Sunday, 26 April 2015

AF17 - The Cross Hill Recordings

'The village of Thingwall in Wirral, UK was originally called Assembly Field and dates back to the 10th century. The village and surrounding areas have a strong Viking heritage and at that time a Viking parliament was held at a piece of land known as Cross Hill. I went to Cross Hill and made a field recording of various environmental sounds and then invited artists to create a track that contained the field recording in some shape or form, the result being The Cross Hill Recordings. A big thank you to all the artists involved' - Phil Edwards

Download here -


Sunday, 22 March 2015

AF16 - Projektions - #28

Projektions is Scottish artist Mark Knight who first started experimenting with analogue equipment while studying music at the age of 17. Over the years he has produced ambient and soundscape works that are at times haunting and melancholic. While using both analogue and digiatal platforms he includes recordings of his enviroment that add to the feel and give his music the unique sound that it holds. '#28' is his first official release and it's a pleasure to release it on Assembly Field.

Download here -